• Alberni Valley Bulldogs
  • Chilliwack Chiefs
  • Coquitlam Express
  • Cowichan Capitals
  • Langley Rivermen
  • Merritt Centennials
  • Nanaimo Clippers
  • Penticton Vees
  • Powell River Kings
  • Prince George Spruce Kings
  • Salmon Arm Silverbacks
  • Surrey Eagles
  • Trail Smoke Eaters
  • Vernon Vipers
  • Victoria Grizzlies
  • Wenatchee Wild
  • West Kelowna Warriors
Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

RECAP: Spruce Kings downed by Surrey 4-1

Prince George didn’t get the start to their current three-game road trip that they wanted, losing by a score of 4-1 to the Surrey Eagles.

Goaltender Evan DeBrouwer drops his second-straight start between the pipes, making 29 saves on 33 shots, while Surrey’s Daniel Davidson stopped 14 shots in the contest.

The game stood still until seven-in-a-half minutes into the first period when John Wesley scored his fifth goal of the season; he would later tally an apple three minutes later on a power-play goal by Desi Burgart.

The Spruce Kings’ lone goal in the loss came on the man-advantage by defenceman Layton Ahac; the assists were recorded by Ben Poisson and Jarod Hovde.

The Eagles would add one more to take a 3-1 lead after 20 minutes.

Surrey would seal the deal in the middle frame thanks to former Victoria Royal Ty Westgard.

Prince George was not able to register a comeback in the third, losing their second game of the 2017-18 season.

They now hold a record of 4-2-1-0, while Surrey improves to 2-4-1-1.

The Eagles swept the game star honours with Burgart, Wesley, and Westgard taking First, Second, and Third respectively.

Surrey captain Jordan Robert was named the Fortis BC Energy Player of the Game.

The Spruce Kings will now head over the Fraser River to Coquitlam to catch the Express Saturday, 7PM at the Poirier Sports and Leisure Complex.

Prince George will trek to the Interior Division Sunday afternoon at 2PM to take on the Merritt Centennials.


7:24 SUR John Wesley (5) ASST: Owen Norton (6)
10:29 SUR Desi Burgart (3) ASST: Owen Norton (7), John Wesley (2) (PP)
15:08 PG Layton Ahac (2) ASST: Ben Poisson (4), Jarod Hovde (2) (PP)
15:49 SUR Desi Burgart (4) ASST: Ty Westgard (5)
13:03 SUR Ty Westgard (1) ASST: Jackson Ross (3), Perry Winfree (3)
No Scoring